Savory Sausage and Cheese Waffles

We recently got a waffle maker and this may be the beginning of a long line of experimental waffle recipes. Don’t worry, I’ll only share the ones that work out. This is one of them.

I absolutely love a good mix of sweet and savory and these waffles hit all of those notes. These guys were cheesy and hearty with just enough sweet and salty. This is the perfect weekend brunch that will keep you filled up until late in the afternoon…or evening.

I must admit, we took a bit of a shortcut by using pancake mix instead of making them from scratch. Judge if you must, but I promise I won’t always cheat in the future.  Since running to the grocery store on a Saturday morning is not the most fun task in the world and we had no buttermilk, this seemed the most logical option. So, feel free to make this with your favorite basic waffle recipe or make one batch of waffles according to your pancake mix.

To make waffles from buttermilk pancake batter, combine 2 cups pancake mix, 1 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1 egg.

In addition to the batter, you’ll only need:

1 cup cooked maple sausage crumbles
3/4 cup grated sharp Cheddar cheese
Syrup or gravy for topping

Preheat waffle iron. Cook 6 oz. sausage (half of a roll) in a skillet. I use Jimmy Dean maple sausage, because I cannot get enough of items that combine sweet and savory. And the smell is heavenly. But you could use whatever kind of sausage you like. Then grate cheddar cheese. Stir sausage and cheese into waffle mix and prepare waffles according to waffle maker. See, you hardly needed directions for that, it’s so simple!

This will make six waffles. Now, I had planned to go the syrup route all along, to ultimately marry the sweet-salty profiles. At the last minute, Andy wanted gravy on his, so he whipped some up from a packet. I must say, it was not a bad call.

P.S.- We cut leftover waffles into four strips each and baked them 200 degrees in the toaster oven until crispy on the outside and used as waffle dipping sticks like you would see in a hokey commercial. Yum-wow-za!

One Comment on “Savory Sausage and Cheese Waffles”

  1. Oh my goodness! This looks so yummy! Cheesy waffles were my favorite as a kid, but I can’t imagine how I would have reacted with sausage added, too! I would have wanted them every day!


Leave a Reply

