Kahlua Milkshake

While I’m on the grown-up dessert train, I might as well ride it for a while. This summer is calling for sweet, spiked treats and I’m there to make them all.

Now, I know it is no mystery my feelings on slightly spiked chocolate and coffee desserts. But if you’re feeling decadent, don’t even bother with any other frozen drink recipe. You can’t blame the other lesser coffee treats because, in their defense, most do not contain ice cream. See, they just weren’t meant to compete against this milkshake.

You’ll need:
1 1/2 cups icecream of your choice, though I recommend some variety of chocolate (we used a combination of dark chocolate cinnamon hazelnut and chocolate caramel fudge)
1/8 tsp cinnamon (if your icecream does not have a built-in cinnamon component)
1/4 cup Kahlua
1/4 cup milk (we used soy)
2 cups icecubes

This next ingredient is where you will either say, “that is disgusting,” in which case you should omit this OR (like me) “holy cow, that sounds divine because I love every part of coffee in everything I eat!”

1 tsp finely ground coffee (espresso setting) If you fall into the second category, you might as well make that a heaping teaspoon.


Blend all ingredients in blender. Now you’ve got two milkshakes to sip on while you ponder how something can be so, so delicious.

5 Comments on “Kahlua Milkshake”

  1. Liz says:

    um num num–wow! An amazing recipe:-)

  2. I love Kahlua! All I need is milk and I can make one of these bad boys tonight! Yummm…haven’t had one in a long time.


Leave a Reply

