Happy Birthday, America!

Hope all of you (fellow Americans) had a wonderful and safe 4th of July! This was kind of a weird one for me. It was my first 4th ever not going home to Missouri, since it fell on a Wednesday. Missouri: where my parents live out in the country and we set off fireworks all day long. This year I never got that up-close fireworks smell, and I must say, I never realized how much I’d miss it.

Andy and I did see an awesome little fireworks show in Illinois, in addition to a day of grilling and major deep cleaning (whoo!). So, all in all, it was a great day. I think I’ll just have to rethink my definition of the 4th of July.

I will chalk up my obnoxiously patriotic outfit to this searching for a new definition. That fact, and the fact that this is a “natural” holiday for me, since for years people have teased me about being so patriotic (red hair, pale white skin and blue eyes… get it?). It’s all in good fun, so I own it.  And a little vintage flair adds less irony to any situation, right?!

When it’s this hot, I feel like simple is best. Temperatures exceed 100, and an updo is the only way you’ll see my hair. The high-waisted shorts and a vintage cut tank mixed with an orangey red lipstick add a playful but classic flair without being fussy. Did you bust out any fun patriotic pieces for the 4th of July?

Outfit details: Shorts: Urban Outfitters, Shirt: Urban Outfitters, Shoes: Urban Outfitters, Bow: Claire’s, Bracelet: Vintage (my grandmother’s), Nails: Sally Hansen Sonic Boom Lips: Revlon Kiss Me Coral

2 Comments on “Happy Birthday, America!”

  1. Taryn says:

    This is a great spin on a patriotic outfit you remind me.of a USO singer! Love it : )


Leave a Reply

